Navidad Flamenca-cd's
Flamenco Noir
Guitarra y Danza
Navidad Flamenca
Navidad Flamenca-cd's
Requiem Flamenco
Lorca Songs
Press photo
“Navidad Flamenca - Spansk Jul”, 1998:
    1. Villancicos Populares (trad.)
    2. Belén Pastores (JvF)
    3. De Egipto Vengo (JvF)
    4. El Niño Perdido (JvF)
    5. Dios Te Salve Virgen (JvF)
    6. Villancico de la Rosa (R. Duran/JvF)
    7. Fiesta en Belén (Amina)
    8. El Alba Viene Ya (JvF)
    9. Navidad en la Plaza (trad.)
    Rogelio de Badajoz, Ana María Carmona, Turi Malmø – lead vocals
    Kirsten Bojesen, Per Hedevang, Martin Bak – vocals
    Niels Dan Andersen – flute
    Marius Rasmussen – perc.
    Christian Droulon – guitar
    Jens Viggo Fjord – guitar
This album reflects the first step of the project with emphasize on the lyrical and melodical aspects, including traditional spanish carols – villancicos – side by side with flamenco inspired themes.
The second album contains a heavier flamenco expression combined with catchy melodylines and two adaptions of old danish christmas carols made in flamencostyle.

“Navidad Flamenca – en Dinamarca”
    1. Navidad Navidad (Duran, Fjord/Pierpont)
    2. Tangos de la Virgen (JvF)
    3. Tocando Están (Balle/JvF)
    4. Amapola de Belén (Duran/JvF)
    5. Night Flight (JvF)
    6. Romance de la Rosa (JvF)
    7. Una Rosa vi Brotar (Cöln/JvF)
    8. De Egipto Vengo (JVF)

December 2004: Good news:
The album is choosed as "CD of the week" by the prestigeous music program Amadeus on the Danish national radio, DR P2, and every day some minutes are dedicated to the project and to play some tunes from the album.

The album represents the project in its actual version, and combines the villancico flamenco tradition with cante jondo and some nordic influence e.g. the flamencoversion, sung by Rogelio de Badajoz, of the old Mary-ballad (1599) "I saw a Rose grow", which in our imagination could have sounded like this in our latitudes if the gypsies, that went to Andalusia in the 1500 century, had gone north and settled down up here creating the drama in the Danish folkmusic.
As soloist participates also to two eminent Madrid-singers, Eva Durán and Esaú Quirós. Esaú, who normally is working in the Sara Baras Company, sings the tune "Tangos de la Virgen", an hommage to the mother of all mothers - the woman of all the women, and the "Romance de la Rosa", inspired by the trinity - The Rose, Love and Creation.
Eva Durán, who is a wellknown singer with a lot of collaborations with artists as e.g. Carmen Cortéz, Guadiana, José Luis Montón, sing the cantiña "Tocando Están Campanas de Paz", which includes an adaption of the old danish carol "Det Kimer Nu" as the typically rubato introduction for Alegrías-songs. Eva Durán also sings the rumba "De Egipto Vengo" in a new fresh version, arranged by Santi Ibarreche.
Rogelio de Badajoz finally sings an emotional Martinete which refers to the evil actions of the King Herodes, and some joyful Bulerías de Cádiz, touching the main theme of the navidad flamenca: the Christmas as a big flamencoparty. The instrumentaltune, Night Flight (to Betlehem), concludes the album.

Record company: Cope Records Denmark.

The tune "Tangos de la Virgen" was nominated by the Danish music magazine, Djembe, to their 2004 Djembe-prize, and it is included on the album "Best of Danish world music". And the tune "Tocando Están" included on the 2004 MXP recompilation-cd by The Danish World Music Association, which is released in order to promote Danish world music outside Denmark.

Concerning the album "Best of Danish world music", Chris Nickson, US, wrote in Roots Magazine: "...That said, a few pieces do stand out, like Navidad Flamenca's wonderfully raw flamenco with palmas and two guitars...".
Sofi Mogensen, England, wrote in Roots Magazine: "...That said, world fusion band Oriental Mood hits the right spot with ' Hob el jebel', which could comfortably hold its own in the international arena; likewise Navidad Flamenca's expressive Tangos de la Virgen..." Aviable on